Skip navigation

I was looking at possible designs of space suits that could be worn by the deep space salvage crew. I didn’t want the suits to look like they do now presently. And I didn’t want them to look hyper futuristic. When searching for ideas to look at, I decided to look at old deep sea diving suits. These suits remind me of the big daddy from Bioshock. I always liked the steam punk feel of the game. Although technically speaking a diving suit is designed very different from a space suit, they both have similarities. Obviously this may not be 100% realistic but sci-fi often mixes with fantasy so it’s the best of both.

Above is an old french deep sea diving suit, it’s one of the strangest designs I’ve seen. It’s inspired by jules verne 20000 leagues under the sea. It’s

The one above is from the Oceanographic Museum in Monaco. It looks more like a robot than a diving suit but I do like the design.

Here is another strange attempt at a diving suit.

611452628e71478900oof2

2110415879_12092571be_b

A more modern diving suit. (above)

Here are some concepts of suits used by the earth salvage corporation. I took inspiration from wacky looking diving suits
from various decades. I of course also took inspiration from movies like Prometheus and the Abyss

 http://dvice.com/archives/2010/11/breathing-liqui.phpHere are some concepts of suits used by the earth salvage corporation. I took inspiration from wacky looking diving suits from various decades. I of course also took inspiration from movies like Prometheus and the Abyss

SITES VISITED:

http://intheboatshed.net/2008/07/08/was-dr-who-in-paris-in-the-19th-century/

http://stumblingbellybutton.wordpress.com/2008/06/18/dark-roasted-blend-amazing-submarine-concepts/

http://dvice.com/archives/2010/11/breathing-liqui.php

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

